Youth in Revolt

Since we’ve arrived in Salamanca, we’ve been hearing about how its a very young city with a thriving college-aged population. And yesterday, Ian (my roommate) and I stumbled on to some awesome evidence of it. What looked like over two hundred University of Salamanca students marched and chanted in protest of the Ministry of Education, which has reduced the number of scholarships given to students. It’s a complicated issue, and I’m looking forward to Shandana and Julia’s upcoming article about it. It was pretty inspiring to see such a large group of students working together for a cause that they’re clearly very passionate about.

Screen shot 2014-05-09 at 4.02.46 AM

We also got to mingle with some of the youth of Salamanca last night after our tapas tour. Thursday is the popular night for going out here (our host madre let us know) and I was excited to meet some local Salamancans. When we walked into the bar, I was surprised to see that the walls were covered with paintings of characters from Futurama and The Simpsons. I haven’t seen either show in a long time, but it was nice to see some familiar things in an unfamiliar place. It was also nice going out as a group, and I think I speak for everyone when I say we had a great time. We all took a dangerously priced 1 euro shot, or “chupito”, when we got in, and I was surprised again when I realized there was a gummy worm at the bottom of the glass. It might have been that liquid courage that made Ian and I challenge some of the locals in the bar to a game of fooseball, in which they promptly decimated us. They had a good time laughing at us, so I’m sure they’d be up for a rematch soon.

 

 

Leave a Reply

