Too Much of a Good Thing

Everyone is familiar with the phrase “too much of a good thing.” You may not know, as I didn’t before I just looked it up, that it comes from the 15th century, and is first seen in print in Shakespeare’s As You Like It. That makes a lot of sense to me, because as I walk around Salamanca now, I’m realizing that I’m becoming numb to all the ridiculously impressive sights here from that century and before. Everyday, I walk past a huge cathedral with a size and architecture that trumps anything I could possibly see back home in Boston. The first few days here, I was getting cramps from craning my neck upward to admire it all the time. Now its just…there. Don’t get me wrong, I’m loving every second of being here and I’m still impressed by all the sights, but I think its interesting that people can become accustomed to even the most beautiful things.

dontactlikeyourenotimpressed

And on a more physical branch of too much of a good thing: chocolate. It may be my favorite food. Yesterday though, for the first time in my life, I didn’t want to eat it. It started when some of the girls from our group came into our workstation with some chocolate ice cream. It looked great, so I ran down to the plaza and grabbed myself one. We were about to head off the the Art Nouveau and Art Deco Museum here, so I figured a little snack beforehand was a good idea. I was not anticipating that we’d all be served churros and chocolate at a museum. But we were, and I’m not rude so I dipped the churros, ate them, and then promptly drank the entire cup of chocolate. Turns out it wasn’t meant for drinking, and was basically a melted down Hershey bar for dipping. Oops. A couple hours later at my homestay, what does our madre (as we call our host mom) serve us for dessert? Chocolate mousse. Never before have I not wanted chocolate mousse, but in that moment I didn’t.

I ate it though. I mean, I couldn’t be rude and refuse…now I’ll just have to take a break from chocolate for a while.

Just kidding. Carlene brought in chocolate wafers today.

Just kidding. Carlene brought in chocolate wafers today.

Leave a Reply

