Made it to Madrid

Salamanca is behind us and its time to start the longer and more dynamic half of our trip. I’ll admit that yesterday, my first day here, was pretty overwhelming. Madrid is a huge city, and nothing seems to be within walking distance. It makes Salamanca, a city of 160,000 people, seem quaint. I got lost more than once and was starting to get pretty frustrated. But after a day to adapt, I can tell that I’m going to love it here. For one,the Metro(the train and bus system) makes me realize how truly awful the T is in Boston. The trains are clean, fast and always on time. I haven’t had to wait more than 2 minutes for a single train yet. Plus, its obvious which line and direction you should go by looking at the map. No more B-Line, C-Line, E-Line shenanigans(seriously, is anything worse than the Green Line?). More importantly, the sights here are incredible. We’ve only gone on a couple walking tours since our arrival and already I’ve been blown away by some of the things I’ve seen. We’ve seen the Royal Palace, the Plaza Mayor and a number of beautiful churches and cathedrals–and its only been two days. Here’s a slideshow of some of my favorite sights.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One aspect here that I’m glad is similar to Salamanca is the food. So far, it has been delicious in the few restaurants I’ve been to. But the highlight food-wise so far has to be our trip to the Mercado de San Miguel, an open market of gourmet food near the Plaza Mayor. They had a huge variety of tapas, sushi, fish, desserts and a lot of things that I have no idea how to describe. I spent about 10 euro trying a bunch of the shops 1 euro offerings. Money well spent. I’ll leave you with another gallery of photos from the market.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

