Final Thoughts

I can’t believe this trip is over. That’s obviously a cliché thing to say, but I truly didn’t see June 10th coming up on us as fast as it did. This was an incredible experience, and one that I’m so happy I decided to take part in. This dialogue was part intense work, part vacation, and I think it struck the perfect balance. I can say that I got to see some of the most beautiful sights in Spain, from Salamanca’s Cathedrals to Madrid’s Royal Palace. At the same time, I get to take back with me the articles that I worked so hard on, including our piece on the UEFA soccer championship that was picked up by the Globe.

On that note, I just want to congratulate everyone that came on this trip. I feel like we all stepped up in a huge way and were able to report some great pieces in a hostile, as Carlene would say, environment. A big shout out to the bullfighting package team of Maria, Gina-Maria, Mackenzie and Shandana is also in order–that was an amazing group of stories and pictures. I’m really proud to be a part of this group, I think we all showed that we are talented reporters, and writing stories back in the United States will feel like a breeze for all of us.

Finally, I’m really going to miss everyone as friends. I never thought we would become as close as we did, and I can’t wait to continue these relationships when we get back to the States. As for me, that won’t be for another week as I’m going to spend some time in Barcelona traveling with my madre(real one, not host mom). So until then, I’ll continue blogging and posting pictures, in part so that our trip doesn’t feel quite as over as I know it is.

 

Leave a Reply

